# Jean-Pierre Bourguignon



He obtained his PhD in 1974 at Paris Diderot University under the direction of the famous geometer Marcel Berger. He held a Professor position at Escole Polytechnique from 1986 to 2012 and spent his whole career as a fellow of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS).

He was President of the Société Mathématique de France and President of the European Mathematical Society. He became the Director of the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (IHÉS) from 1994 to 2013. After that, Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon was selected to be the President of the European Research Council (ERC) from 2014 to 2019. Professor Bourguignon received the *Prix Paul Langevin* in 1987 and the *Prix du Rayonnement Français* in Mathematical Sciences and Physics from the *Académie des Sciences de Paris* in 1997

#### Shin-Ichi Ohta



Prof. Ohta obtained his PhD at Tohoku University in 2003. After graduation, he joined Kyoto University as an Assistant Professor then was promoted to be an Associate Professor in 2009. In 2017, he became a Professor at Osaka University. He won several prestigious grants and awards, including, JSPS Fellowships in 2003, 2006-2008. He was awarded Takebe Prize in 2005, Geometry Prize in 2011, Spring Prize in 2012, Young Scientists Prize in 2012, and JSPS Prize in 2014

Website: http://www4.math.sci.osaka-u.ac.jp/~sohta/

### Richard Schoen



Prof. Schoen got his PhD in 1977 from Stanford University. He was faculty members at several prestigious universities, for instance, the Courant Institute, NYU at NewYork, University of California, at Berkeley and San Diego. From 1987 to 2014, he was Professor at Stanford University . Currently, he is a Distinguished Professor and Excellence in Teaching Chair at the University of California, Irvine. Schoen has been invited to speak at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) three times, including twice as a Plenary Speaker at ICM 1986 and ICM 2010. He obtained the Bôcher Memorial Prize in 1989 for his work on the Yamabe problem. He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1988 and to the National Academy of Sciences in 1991, became Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1995, and won a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1996. In 2015, he was elected Vice President of the American Mathematical Society in 2015. He received the Wolf Prize in Mathematics for 2017, shared with Charles Fefferman. In the same year, he was awarded the Heinz Hopf Prize, the Lobachevsky Medal and Prize by Kazan Federal University, and the Rolf Schock Prize.

## Timothy Buttsworth



Dr. Timothy Buttsworth obtained his PhD degree in 2019 at university of Queensland. After graduation, he was visiting assistant professor at Cornell University and The University of Pennsylvania. Recently, he was appointed to be Assistant Professor at the University of New South Wales. He holds ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award.

Website: <a href="https://sites.google.com/view/timothybuttsworth/home">https://sites.google.com/view/timothybuttsworth/home</a>

### **Gunhee Cho**



Dr Gunhee Cho obtained his PhD at University of Connecticut. After graduation, he became a Visiting Assistant Professor at University of California, Santa Barbara. His interest includes Complex geometry, sub-Riemannian geometry, and Geometric applications in Machine Learning and Statistics.

Website: <a href="https://sites.google.com/view/enjoyingmath/home">https://sites.google.com/view/enjoyingmath/home</a>

Nguyen Minh Hoang



Dr. Nguyen Minh Hoang obtained her PhD at Toulouse University III-Paul Sabatier. She now is working at Vietnam National University, University of Science at Hanoi. Her interest is on the theory of minimal surfaces and constant mean curvature surfaces

Website: http://mim.hus.edu.vn/en/staff/hoangnm